Your Shopping Cart

It appears that your cart is currently empty!


Brentano Quartet
April 22, 2018, 3:00pm

About the Artist

Sunday, April 22, 2018 – 3:00PM

Purchase Tickets at the Door after 2pm.

2pm - Pre-concert talk onstage in Memorial Chapel with:

Matthew Aucoin, composer
Mark Steinberg, violin
Ara Guzelimian, provost and dean of The Juilliard School

We close the season with dear friends who have delighted our audience for years. Yale’s quartet-inresidence offers a program spanning three centuries with the series’ first-ever commissioned work.

Haydn: Quartet in B Minor, Op. 64, No. 2
Quartet in C Minor, Op. 18, No. 4
Matthew Aucoin:
Soft Power (World Premiere - UCCS Commission)
Quartet No. 12 in D-flat Major, Op. 133

Sponsored by:


Sherley and Roger Hannay

General Admission seating - doors open 45 minutes before concert.
All students admitted free with valid ID.


Since its inception in 1992, the Brentano String Quartet has appeared throughout the world to popular and critical acclaim.  “Passionate, uninhibited and spellbinding,” raves the London Independent; the New York Times extols its “luxuriously warm sound [and] yearning lyricism.”

Since 2014, the Brentano Quartet has served as Artists in Residence at Yale University. The Quartet also currently serves as the collaborative ensemble for the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition.  Formerly, they were Artists in Residence at Princeton University for many years.

The Quartet has performed in the world’s most prestigious venues, including Carnegie Hall and Alice Tully Hall in New York; the Library of Congress in Washington; the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam; the Konzerthaus in Vienna; Suntory Hall in Tokyo; and the Sydney Opera House.  The Quartet had its first European tour in 1997, and was honored in the U.K. with the Royal Philharmonic Award for Most Outstanding Debut.

In addition to their interest in performing very old music, the Brentano Quartet frequently collaborates with contemporary composers  Recent commissions include a piano quintet by Vijay Iyer, a work by Eric Moe (with Christine Brandes, soprano), and a viola quintet by Felipe Lara (performed with violist Hsin-Yun Huang).  In 2012, the Quartet provided the central music (Beethoven Opus 131) for the critically-acclaimed independent film A Late Quartet.

The quartet has worked closely with other important composers of our time, among them Elliot Carter, Charles Wuorinen, Chou Wen-chung, Bruce Adolphe, and György Kurtág. The Quartet has also been privileged to collaborate with such artists as sopranos Jessye Norman, Dawn Upshaw, and Joyce DiDonato, and pianists Richard Goode, Jonathan Biss, and Mitsuko Uchida.

The Quartet is named for Antonie Brentano, whom many scholars consider to be Beethoven’s “Immortal Beloved”, the intended recipient of his famous love confession.